Skip to main content
Family Court of Western Australia
Print page
  • Small Text
  • Medium Text
  • Large Text

About the Family Court


The Family Court of Western Australia was established in 1976 as a State court under the Family Court Act 1975.


The court is presided over by judges, magistrates and registrars. It is vested with State and Federal jurisdiction in matters of family law and deals with divorce, property of a marriage or defacto relationship, matters relating to children, maintenance, adoptions and surrogacy.

The Department of the Attorney General (WA) provides administrative and logistical support for the operation of this court, which is federally funded.


Judicial officers

  • One Chief Judge
  • Four Judges
  • One principal registrar/magistrate
  • Seven family law magistrates
  • Two acting family law magistrates
  • Two registrars
Non-judicial officers
  • One executive manager
  • Managers and team leaders
  • Registry officers
  • Judicial support officers
Consultancy Service 
  • One director, counselling  and consultancy service
  • Three managers, counselling and consultancy service
  • Thirteen family consultants


The principal registry is located at 150 Terrace Road, Perth, Western Australia.

The court sits in Perth, but country circuits are conducted at specified regional centres at Albany, Broome, Bunbury, Geraldton and Kalgoorlie.

Local magistrates have limited jurisdiction in country locations, dealing mainly with enforcement matters and interim applications.

Last updated: 4-Oct-2013

[ back to top ]

Home |  Privacy |  Copyright & Disclaimer
All contents copyright Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved.